COLOUR I can’t take anymore!

When did colour move from being natural to the artifice of ‘normal,’ Normal Agenda Setting? In this blog I want to explore the adaptation of colour to human agenda. How colours have assisted, visually dictated and continue to guide us to an intended response/s.

Why does black evoke mystery and fear, red passion and revolution, what happens when you change the colour to highlight a thematic concern.

Can a black Jesus be as powerful as a white knight in shining armour?


I shall look at colour in science, colour in art, colour in advertising, colour in race, colour in exploring ideas, colour as a tool of agenda, colour as liberation, colour as domination, colour as cover-up, colour I can’t take anymore!

A rainbow to riot and all your hues in between!

About mlcgallery

Designer, communicator and curious commentator on the value and exploitation of colour to communicate thought, fears, agenda, boundedness, beauty and bounty.
This entry was posted in COLOURS in general. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to COLOUR I can’t take anymore!

  1. Jamielmyers says:

    This topic is very interesting. I understand that everything that goes in to ads and communication tools is on purpose but I never really thought about the role that colour plays. I guess we have become so passive in some senses. I mean we just accept that snow is white, water is blue, lips are red…. but why are they those colours and what do those colours mean? Why do some colours portray the idea, emotion or concept that communicators are trying to convey? This topic leaves me with a lot of questions and I look forward to reading more.

Leave a Reply

